Skip to content

The Kimono T-Shirt Dress…that doesn’t fit

08/31/2009
Okay, I’m always perusing the internet looking for some wonderful, free patterns, designed by someone with WAY more skill than me.  On craftster.org, I found this adorable kimono dress that I though would look super cute on my 4.5 month old, baby bird (that is a nickname…we are not raising baby birds). 

So, here is what it should look like:

Adorable T-Shirt Dress Inspriation

 And here is my finished masterpiece, modeled by my adorable daughter:

Uh, yeah...so it doesnt quite fit over her head.  Minor detail.

So, next time I plan to read the directions a little bit better.  She did suggest using a jersey material for the binding.  I now know why.  My daughter has quite a melon and probably needed that stretch to make it go over her head.  OOPS! 

Here is another shot of the model:

Sadly, I think she would have looked FABULOUS in it.  *sniff*

Nevertheless, I’m happy with the final product.  It’s the first piece of clothing I’ve done where I made my own pattern versus printing one.  I did learned a valuable lesson.  Read the direction and take the advice given.  There is usually a reason for it.  I am going to try this again and hopefully it will fit.  I had this grand plan for her to wear it this winter and either shorten it later to a shirt or put some leggings under it.  Bean (again, not her real name.  We aren’t that weird), my 6 year old, wants a shirt like this.  Maybe the next one will work. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ohiokimono permalink
    08/31/2009 8:46 pm

    Ahhh this is funny!

  2. Tickled Pink Twice permalink
    08/31/2009 10:20 pm

    Sad and funny. I do not claim to be a seamstress, but this was pretty bad. I really wish it fit cuz I’m so proud of the finished product.

Leave a Reply

