Skip to content

Yes, I Can Read!

09/07/2009

And no, it’s not a People Magazine.  People  is my weakness, mearly for the celebrity gossip, fashion, and puzzle near the back of the magazine.

I’ve been eyeing these two books at JoAnn’s.  One is an Amy Butler and the other is Valerie Van Arsdale Shrader.  The latter seriously needs one of those pen names cuz it is just too hard and too long to remember.  I had a 40% off a regular priced item coupon and an additional 10% off entire order coupon.  Since they didn’t have a fabric that was really pulling at me for a curtain project in Bean’s room, I headed to the book/magazine area.  Something about the bloomers on the front of this book said “BUY ME.” 

Great Baby Projects
Great Baby Projects

So, I did!  I’m no expert seamstress, but some of the projects on the inside, I’ve done with my own patterns.  There is a basic bib and burp rag pattern along with a simple blanket.  Been there, done that.  What I’ve been dying for are those booties and the bloomers.  My baby bird’s chubby legs are just calling me to put her in those ruffled bottoms.  I’m not a quilter, but there are 3 blankets in there that I am going to attempt as well.  Let’s put it this way, I will try every pattern and let you know my thoughts and final products…

I told myself that I won’t get the Amy Butler book until I’m done with this one.  I have put the bug in my hubbies ear that I want it.  He always seems to say, “I didn’t know what to get you.”   Course, I’ll be ready for it way before Christmas.

Tonight, I am trying to rush everyone to bed because I want to try “Just Ducky” boots and a hair bow (not in the book).  I will show you my finished product.

SKADUSH!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/07/2009 11:01 pm

    Hi! You are one of my swap-bot partners! I can hardly wait to look around~I have added you to my blogroll~Tpartymom

  2. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    09/08/2009 1:26 pm

    Thanks. I’m going to go and check yours out too. Love a good read!

  3. Giselle permalink
    09/15/2009 1:09 pm

    Did you make those just ducky booties? Because I have been trying to and am having trouble with step #4 and am looking for some help….please let me know if you might have some clarification on that step. thanks!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      09/15/2009 2:36 pm

      Hi Giselle,
      I just got finished doing my sort of review, if you may, of that pattern. What sort of trouble are you having with step #4? I ran into trouble on #5. The weird part I thought about step #4 was why they wanted you to nip to the dot but I’m guessing that it makes it easier for stp #6 when you are sewing the lining with the outer. You did copy the “dot” from the pattern to the fabric, right? I do remember that the fleece seemed to not meet up exactly like the liner did but I’m assuming because it had more stretch in the fabric, especially when cutting without rotary cutter.
      Kay

  4. 09/19/2009 9:41 pm

    Can’t wait to see all the projects from the book! I’m a sucker for homemade baby things. 😉

    Stopping by from SITS!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      09/20/2009 1:18 pm

      I’m DYING to finish off my ruffled booties if the DH would get out back door install done. He’s cut power to my craft studio. The Nerve!

Leave a Reply

