Skip to content

I’m Not a Virgin Now…Finally!

09/16/2009

I mailed my first swap out today, which was a Halloween themed whimsy jar.  Thanks to my inspirations, I think I did pretty well.  Yesterday, I received my jar from my swap partner.  I’m not sure what to think about it.  The first thing that come to mind is that it smelled like smoke; it reeked of cigarette smoke.  I am not a smoker and my daughter has asthma so I am super anti-smoking.  I don’t judge someone for smoking but I don’t want to smell of it or have anything that does either.  I think that my inspirations made me have high expectations.  I want to say A is for effort but it does remind me of something my daughter would have done and picked out.  I’m not being mean but it seems like little effort was put into it.  I put SO much thought into mine that I guess I’m a little disappointed.  This is what I got:

My daughter had a great time opening the jar up and getting all the goodies out.  She has already made a card for her teacher.  My jar went in the mail today.  I’m not much in to the cheesy Halloween stickers and what not.  From my swap partner (not the person that sent me the jar) profile, I think she is very similar to me.  I ended up keeping more of a color theme as opposed to festive trinkets.  Her jar had a FQ in a striped print (Halloween colors), ric-rac, argyle ribbon, a mixture of black/orange buttons, paper for scrapping, 3 pretty cool Halloween phrase stamps, and a surprise…a skeleton key stamp (something she wanted).  Since I’m addicted to those organza flowers, I made her a pin.  Here’s my baby:

I think it turned out so great.  Not too bad for my first try.  If anyone is interested, check out Swap-bot.  You know it’s always fun to receive snail mail.  If readership (is that a word?) is up, I would love to host some of these.  I think I’ll have a giveaway next week for one of these…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/17/2009 12:42 am

    It’s so disappointing when you work so hard on your swap and get something you’re not all that into! I did a swap and was so excited about having a partner from Italy-apparently they have the same stuff in Italy as they do here 😦 I’m relatively new to swap-bot myself but I have gotten some pretty interesting items!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      09/17/2009 10:25 am

      I’m pretty surprised that you didn’t get something pretty cool from a swap in Italy. I would have been really looking forward to some unique fabric, buttons, something. I always think of Europe being very vintage or fashionable. I’m glad that I’m not the only one that has been disappointed by a swap. I won’t give up though…looking forward to many more!

Leave a Reply

