Skip to content

It’s Flower Friday!

09/18/2009

It’s that time again to embrase all things floral.  This week, I’ve found some great designs while I enjoyed my quite time as the family sleeps.  I found a wonderful tutorial to make a fabric flower.  I’ve been wanting to try it since I ran across it a couple of weeks ago.  There are endless possibilities for ways to use it.  Bean has staked claim on the this one:

Fabric Flower Tutorial:

  • you need you choice of fabric (you can mix and match), thread, needle, button, safety pin
  1. Cut out your six flowers:  2 large, 4 small.  You can find the template and detailed tutorial on Wisecraft
  2. Stack the 2 large flowers on top of each other
  3. Fold a small flower in half and lay it on top of the large flower stack.  Do this for each of the small flowers, overlapping them each by 1/4.
  4. Stitch the flowers down as shown, going through all layers
  5. Attach a button.  Wisecraft is awesome; she actually covers a button in a contrasting fabric.  Your choice.

Wisecraft actually goes into further details on how she attached it to felt with glue and a pin.  I’m sort of lazy, wanting a quick start to finish.  I just attached mine securely to a safety pin.  As I said before, Bean has taken this on from me already.  I actually think “Mr. Bear” is currently wearing it but I play to whip up a headband for it or maybe pin it on a cute jean skirt.  We’ll see.  I think I’m going to make some more to sew onto some plain tees I got for her.  Since I will end up washing it, I need to fray proof the edges. 

All in all…fun and easy.  Thumbs up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/19/2009 12:02 am

    These are beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial.

  2. 09/19/2009 9:43 pm

    I’m a novice sewer, and so happy I found your blog! It’s hard to find a good sewing blog for newer “sew-ers” (not “sewers”, that’s such a weird word to type). I’m going to follow now so I don’t miss out on your projects!

    {feel free to stop over to my blog if you’d like:
    http://makinglemonadeblog.blogspot.com }

    Happy SITS Sharefest!

  3. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    09/20/2009 1:17 pm

    I am off to check out your blog, Carrie! Got to love the SITS Sharefest.

    I am quit the novice sewer but I’ll try just about anything. I’m in the midst of finished up quite a few projects so I’ll have quite a bit of tutorials for “us” sew-ers!

Leave a Reply

