Skip to content

She Now Has the Cutest Bottom!

10/01/2009

My apologies for my week hiatus.  I’ve had too much fun that I couldn’t get around to post.  *sarcasm*  I’ve been busy with my new friend:  The Dentist.

Last week, before visiting the dentist, I got around to working on a second project from Valerie Van Arsdale Shrader’s book:  Sweet Booties! (and blankets, bonnets, bibs, and more). 

The cover of the book was just asking me to work on those ruffled bloomers.  So I jumped right in.  I had some polka dot jersey lying around after making my daughter a “fashion scarf.”  Kudos to me, I re-fashioned part of Bean’s old shirt to make the ruffles. 

My first comment would be on the book cover.  When you look at my final product, it looks like I made them really long.  But if you open the book to the instruction page on the bloomers, they are not that short like they are on the cover.  The cover makes them look more like a diaper cover but inside, the photo definitely shows more of a longer bloomer.  I’m all about an items of clothing that are not outgrown in 2.2 seconds.  The bloomer concept is great except that it’s like 55 degrees outside today.  How do you think I did?

I would pretty much give this an easy rating for the most part.  The bloomer part is SO easy.  I think I had that part ready to go in like 15 minutes.  The time consuming part would be the ruffles.  The instructions call for 2-24 in long pieces to use for the ruffles.  I didn’t want mine connected so I made 4-12 in long pieces.  The guide lines on the pattern for the ruffles seemed too wide if you actually made ruffles.  I am seriously always modifying patterns; I made it work for what I had made.

The only other issues would be more a critique on me rather than the pattern.  I’m still getting used to sewing on my new Viking Emerald 118.  I’ve never been able to sewing basting (running) stitch so that takes a bit of tweeking on my part.  I also was having a senior moment when it came to doing the zig zag stitch on the edges since I do not own a serger.  I haven’t quite mastered the adjustment of stitch length or width. 

Anywho.  Doesn’t quite look like the book cover but it does look like the instruction shots.  I’m happy at her adorable ruffled butt and that’s all that matters.  I’m throwing around the idea of making a pant using this pattern.  We will see.

Oh yeah.  Found another product that I wish I found FOREVER ago.  An iron on pattern pencil.  Where have you been all my life?  I usually have so much trouble doing the pattern to fabric transfer.  I hate to cut the pattern all up for the smallest size when I would like to reuse the pattern.  My mom said to tape it back together but that sounded stupid.  Seriously, I bet a class would have helped me learn so much as a new sew-er (not sewer) but it’s too late for that now 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chimpsgomoo permalink
    10/01/2009 11:08 am

    How cute! I’m making bloomers for my daughter right now too, yours are darling!

  2. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    10/01/2009 2:11 pm

    Thanks. I wish I would have started this project about 2 months ago so she could have enjoyed them more. There’s always next spring and summer

Leave a Reply

