Skip to content

Ruffled Tuxedo T-Shirt

10/04/2009

I got these great, durable little t-shirts for Bean on clearance at Meijer a couple of weeks ago.  They are great but pretty boring.  I’ve been trying to figure out what to do to them to spice them up a bit.  I found a great tutorial for an embellished tank top for toddlers.  I took the concept and changed it around, like I always do (can’t I just do anything easy), and came up with a sort of simple Tuxedo T-shirt.  I think this is pretty much my first “original” design (with a bit of nudging).  Yeah Me!

Tuxedo Ruffled T-Shirt Tutorial:

  • You will need 1 t-shirt, 1 strip of coordinating fabric (2 x 18 in), coordinating thread, & a sewing machine (DUH)
  1. Cut your strip of fabric.  Obviously this step can vary depending on how tight of a ruffle you would like.  I tripled the length of the area I wished to have ruffled so it would be pretty dense.
  2. Sew a basting stitch down the center of the fabric.  Pull the thread and bunch up your ruffle to desired density.
  3. Fold under the top edge and pin into place.  Then pin the rest of the ruffle into place, folding under the bottom edge of the ruffle as well.
  4. Sew the ruffle into place.  Viola.  Easy embellished shirt for you or your little one.

Tips:  It’s so much fun to make sure you don’t sew the front of the shirt to the back.  Try sewing a straight piece of coordinating ribbon on top of the ruffle with 3 buttons at the top for an even more tailored look.  I’m going to whip up something like this tomorrow if Baby Bird is cooperative.  If, being the key word.  Before you wonder, I was lazy and did not “Fray Check” the edges.  Go ahead and zig zag them or whatever you want to do.  A jersey ruffle would be cool too. 

Let’s see your versions of the Tuxedo Ruffle T-Shirt.

PS:  Hopefully, we will be able to get a photo of my model in the shirt in the morning.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. chimpsgomoo permalink
    10/05/2009 10:49 am

    Cute! Thank you for the tutorial, I can’t wait to see it on your model, if you get some cooperation 🙂

  2. 10/07/2009 8:38 am

    I know a few things about Tux Tees(made thousands of them). This is Great nice Job

    Todd

Trackbacks

  1. Ruffled Tuxedo T-Shirt Part Deux « Sew, What's Next?

Leave a Reply

