Skip to content

Recycled Door Headboard Tute Part 1

10/11/2009

My home has been an almost constant construction zone since we purchased it a 1.25 years ago.  We bought a brick two-family home with good bones (as my hubby refers to it) but it needed a LOT of work.  Currently, we are working on the last 3 rooms (kitchen, dining room, and office).  The hubby “likes” to keep the extra construction materials we’ve torn out of the house.  I don’t like to let him do it but I have let him keep some of the old, plain jane doors.  He usually uses them to cut baseboards over the saw horses.

I’ve been wanting to recycle the doors for sometime if I could find something cool to do with them.  Sometime on the DIY network, I saw them make a headboard out of two old doors, side by side vertically.  That was a super high headboard, so I changed it up a bit.  In case you want to me your own, here’s how i did it:

Recycled Door Headboard

  • 1-2 doors (depending on the height of your bed), 1 piece of 1x4x8 wood, 1 piece of decorative trim, nail gun (or hammer and nails for you strong armed), mitre saw, husband
  1. Figure out the nicest side of your doors.  My doors were super ugly so I picked the lesser of two evils.  Remember, dings give character (is what I told myself) and we aren’t going for perfect or we’d bought new.
  2. Measure the length of your top edge.  Use measurements or give to hubby to cut trim pieces.  I wanted my trim to go around the side of the door so the hubby took care of those fun mitre cuts too.  Trim 1x4x8 to desired length.  I wanted mine to overhang on the sides about 2.5 inches.
  3. TRICKY PART TO EXPLAIN:  Lay the door with the good side down.  I wanted the top piece of wood to hang off the back as much as it is thick (about an inch)  I used my extra piece of 1x4x8 (on its side) as a guide when I nailed (yes I nailed) the top piece of wood on.  I put nails in every 3-4 inches because the wood was a hair warped.  It’s seriously impossible to find a flat piece of wood.
  4. Flip door over, good side up.  Then we nailed the trim piece onto the door, one side flat on the door and the other, abutting the 1x4x8.  Make sure you let it hang over the edge with your shortest point of your cut on the edge if you mitred it.

  1. Attached your edge (mitred) pieces if you choose to do this step.  I thought it gave for a more finished look.
  2. Dust off the front of the door and the 2nd door before flipping both over, good side down.  Line up and attach pieces of wood to brace and support the headboard.  At first, we only did the 3 small pieces but decided it needed a bit more.  Dust off the back side of the headboard.
  3. I took mine inside the soon-to-be office/sewing/crafting room (with double pocket doors I might add) to put my first coat of paint on it.
  4. To Be Continued.  Off to put my second coat of paint on the front.

I’ll post the finished product, up in our room so you can see that it doesn’t look as crappy as my last photo is…at least I hope so.  The wet paint and the construction going on in the office makes it look pretty crappy…could be the door knob holes as well.  Keep in mind that they are going to be hidden once attached to the frame and the mattress is on.  We’ve got one of those ridiculously tall kings size, pillowtops.

I’m still not sure if I plan on adding a bit of decorative rectangular molding on the top half.  Only if it looks too plain.  We’ll see.  Hope this isn’t too confusing.  I’ve had fun so far.  Good thing I don’t have the nerve to use the mitre saw or I’d be out woodworking with the hubby is at work.  Well see…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

