Skip to content

It’s Flower Friday!

01/22/2010

About two months or so ago, I was inside Big Lots looking for cheap picture frames for a craft.  I found a whole end cap of Martha Stewart crafts for $2.00 a piece.  I ended up picking up Black-Eyed Susan Crepe Paper Kit.  It usually sells for $9.97 at Walmart so I thought I might as well give it a go.    Yeah, so 2 months later and I still never pulled even the directions out.  It seems like my crafting “To Do” list in my head is always growing.

Last week I cheated and did not actually get to try out the flower design.  This week I thought that the Black-Eyed craft was a good choice and a possible challenge because I’ve never done a crepe paper project.

Special thanks to Glam Nest for the photo.

The longest part of this project was the preparation.  It took me all of Grey’s Anatomy (on DVR with only some forwarding through commercials) to just cut all of the pieces I needed out.  It wasn’t that there were a ton but some of the cuts were  smaller. 

I think they turned out pretty well for my first go at paper crafting.  I’ve been looking for a pop of yellow in my office or dining room so this will be a great option and I don’t have to worry about picking up petals as they fall off.

And of course, the batteries on my camera died so I can’t put up a photo so you can see my work.  I will try and find my charger so I can get a photo up. 

I’m thinking of giving a go at some more of Martha Stewart’s packaged crafts.  I think you can find them at Walmart and even Michaels.  I haven’t been back to Big Lots since but I wonder if they have anymore of these project packs?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

