Skip to content

The Apple Doesn’t Fall Far From the Tree…

01/27/2010

The crafting side of this mother was so proud yesterday; Bean started learning to sew. Honestly, she’s been BUGGING me at all the wrong times to learn but I finally decided to be a good mom and work with her. I should have done it sooner because it wasn’t difficult at all. SOMETIMES, teaching her something can be quite the chore because she is always adding her two cents. This time she just sat there and listened. I didn’t even have to show her twice.

Of course, I have been working with her on the Cadillac of sewing machines, my Viking. I should really make her learn something and have her work with my old jallopy (and 1st machine), the Janome. You really know how to sew if you can thread a needle without a built-in threader, use your scissor instead of the handy thread cutter on the machine, and load a bobbin in the metal contraption as opposed to the convenient, easily accessable compartment. I can’t believe I taught myself to be an amazing sewer (never feels like this word is right) and sewed for 3 years on the machine. Not really tooting my own horn but I think I can hold my own considering I haven’t had any classes; got to love the internet and blogs.

Anywho, so she’s mastered sewing straight-lines and something close to a square on paper, we are going to give fabric a go over the weekend. She is dying to actually sew something as opposed to scraps. Patience grasshopper.

Here are some great references if you are looking to teach your junior crafter how to sew:

One Hour Craft

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/28/2010 1:46 pm

    That’s wonderful. Definitely take the time to teach her all she wants to learn. My mother never took the time to teach me, and I had to learn to cook, sew, do laundry, everything after I was married.

  2. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    01/28/2010 2:09 pm

    She’s always been a creative kid so we’ve never had to force anything. I’m pretty sure she fills up about 20 notebooks a year with doodles and stories. The sewing is more fun than expected with her and I look forward to putting her first project in her 1st grade memory tote (I’ve become my step-mom and keep all of the kids “memories.”) Learning cooking to laundry after being married must have been a challenge. I’ve had to pick up many cooking skills since getting married but I did know the basics. Thank goodness because the hubby can barely brown meat.

Leave a comment